Advisory: National COSH to Announce 2023 “Dirty Dozen” Unsafe Employers

21 Apr 2023

For immediate release, April 21, 2023
Contact: Melissa Moriarty, [email protected], 603.505.7135

Advisory: Wednesday 4/26 @ 2:00 pm ET/11:00 am PT

National COSH to Announce 2023
“Dirty Dozen” Unsafe Employers

LOS ANGELES– The National Council for Occupational Safety and Health (National COSH) will announce “The Dirty Dozen” employers of 2023 during a bilingual Zoom media briefing on Wednesday, April 26th at 2pm ET/1pm CT/12 noon MT/ 11:00am PT.  

The Dirty Dozen are examples of employers that put workers and communities at risk due to unsafe practices which lead to preventable illnesses, injuries and fatalities. Several of the Dirty Dozen have also engaged in harassment and retaliation against those workers who are standing up and speaking out for safety on the job.  

Who:  
Jessica E. Martinez, MPH, Co-Executive Director, National COSH  
Vince Verna, Vice President, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen (BLET);
Worker from Swissport International AG, service provider at U.S. airports
Alisha Nicole, sister/cousin of Lorna McMurrey, cannabis worker who died from an asthma attack at Trulieve Cannabis Corp. production facility in Holyoke, Massachusetts warehouse where two workers died in November, 2021.  Danny Jackson, who hired McMurrey at Trulieve, will also attend and be available for Q and A.  

What: Zoom media briefing on “Dirty Dozen” employers for 2023.  

When: Wednesday, April 26th at 2 pm ET/1 pm CT/12 noon MT/ 11:00 am PT

Where: Journalists can pre-register for the call here.   Pre-registration is required to receive an individualized link for the Zoom call on Wednesday, April 26th.  

To receive an embargoed copy of the Dirty Dozen report, please contact [email protected] or [email protected].  

“This is a dangerous time for U.S. workers,” said Martinez.  â€œThe rate of workplace fatalities is increasing, with Black and Brown workers facing the greatest risks. The rate of workplace injuries is also rising, and we are seeing a sharp increase in the number of children working illegally in hazardous occupations.  Workers urgently need stronger protections on the job, and our “Dirty Dozen” report will also highlight actions workers are taking to win better conditions for themselves and their co-workers.”  

The “Dirty Dozen” report is released in observance of Workers’ Memorial Week, which takes place this year from April 23 through April 30th.  This worldwide event remembers workers who lost their lives on the job and their families and also recognizes those who suffer from occupational injuries and illnesses.  

*****

National COSH links the efforts of local worker health and safety coalitions in communities across the United States, advocating for elimination of preventable hazards in the workplace. For more information, please visit  nationalcosh.org. Follow us @NationalCOSH on  Facebook, @NationalCOSH on  Twitter  and @NationalCOSH on  Instagram.